Ok

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services. En savoir plus.

27/10/2009

Luxirare Crisp

I’ve always had a strange addiction to potato chips. The impulse usually clocks in conveniently when I’m in the mood to watch a marathon of SVU episodes. Olivia Benson with long hair please, not short.    The beauty of indulging in a big bag of chips is in its mindless repetition. I thought it was about time that I take this mindless repetition and turn it into something more mindful.
Chip flavors are always powdered into an imitation of what the flavor is supposed to taste like.  Sour cream and onion isn’t the same as tasting real sour cream and onions,  (Though I suggest Baked Lays Sour Cream and Onion, my favorite chip).  Sure, Imitation in itself has value. Just not all the time.  I want confrontational flavors. Cilantro chips, maybe even vanilla flavored chips- I could try several different flavors and see which one I like most…

_DSC9158

_DSC812

_DSC8504

_DSC8555

_DSC9155

_DSC9125

_DSC8630

Newly acquired spiral shaver below. I use it for cucumbers so that I can wrap my sushi rolls with them, but I tried it with a potato, and it started shaving out a long sheet of potato……….You can see I am spinning the wheel so the potato feeds through the blade.

_DSC8683

_DSC8797

It sort of looks like tissue paper. I’m holding the spiral shaved sheet of one potato in the picture below.. Its pretty long..

_DSC8715 copy

_DSC871copy

This long sheet above now becomes 8 small sheets, uniform in size and visuals.

_DSC9408

Flavors; Red pepper thread, prosciutto + red peppercorn, cilantro, and Vanilla. Mr. Adria is well known for his Vanilla whipped mashed potatoes. I thought I could try this vanilla flavor for potato chips…Gross? Maybe. I quite like it. I had never tried Vanilla under the savory context.  My plan is to layer these ingredients in between two sheets, sort of like mummifying them or sandwiching them so they are “Trapped”.

_DSC9327

_DSC9396

Spreading the vanilla on the potato sheet.

_DSC9413

So you can see in this image I just sandwiched the flavors in.

_DSC9423

Baking rack. This is a waved baking rack made especially for baking french baguettes but I used it to create waves for the potatoes while baking them.  This rack is also good because it has a perforated wall which lets the steam from the potato disappear, allowing for a crispier chip.
I noticed Cilantro had the most moisture. Next time I will dry my cilantro first.

_DSC9470

Sprayed with PAM, and baked at 250 F for 40-50 minutes. Its more like dehydrating and baking at the same time.

_DSC9474

_DSC8807

_DSC8918

_DSC848

_DSC8818

_DSC8867

_DSC9236

You can see I have a very strange fixation with Vanilla and potatoes…

_DSC9252

_DSC9172

_DSC9272

I think these chips are good for snacking while drinking alcohol… before a dinner party. You know, when everyone just starts to get to your place and the food’s not quite ready yet but people are eager to drink…I think the potato+prosciutto combo is better than serving Beef Jerky. Why do I sound like Ina Garten right now? I’m much too young to be talking like this and I don’t even like dinner parties..

_DSC9285

11:53 Publié dans Fooding | Lien permanent | Commentaires (2) | Tags : luxirare |  Facebook