Ok

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services. En savoir plus.

10/06/2009

November to February = Luxirare Truffle Fish & Chips

 

On a contemplative note, keeping an online diary about fashion and food is questionable. How does one categorize such disparate subjects and why does Luxirare think its ok to combine the two? This idea came to me after having overdosed on Shrimp Lo Mein with mysteriously translucent shrimp, rolling around in total fatassery with cold noodle remnants stuck onto my sweats. I thought, Hey I'm probably not the only person who is obsessed with flavor and fabric. After all, isn't this the very fate practiced by our predecessors? Sewing and searching for gastronomic perfection? Isn't that what our grandmothers did? Make food and sew? In fact, through reading other blogs I am understanding that this food and fashion obsession is pretty common. I wonder what Margaret Thatcher would think of this self sufficient collective. We need more DVFs, or more Chanels, or more Kawakubos, or even more DKNYs of the fashion world. I've had it with the men designing for women thing. Women know better..or do we...? I sometimes wish Margiela was not Martin but Martina.....Sadness.

Fish and chips, but truffled. I always need an excuse to add truffle flavor to food. The same way Masa chef adds truffle flakes to his sushi...I am not sure how authentic these are, but I have a great deal of respect for traditional British food despite its horrible reputation.

All white fish is good, I chose Tilapia. But Cod is pretty common as well. Potatoes are for frying, and the lemons will be pillaged for their juice and zest.

DSC_0006

This is where the truffle action comes in. Truffle flavor infused two ways; I add the truffle oil to the fresh mayo, and then add the truffle cream to the batter for the fish. Both of these truffle products extremely potent. One cannot afford fresh truffles everyday. Flour with salt, cayenne and garlic powder + Cornmeal for fish.....
DSC_0010

I've had my fair share of frustration for catching the elusive, extra crispy, Stand-the-test-of-Time potato fry. I went to Pomme Frites with my ex friend during my sophomore year of college, almost everyday. They had the best thick cut english fries ever. But one day I caught a glimpse of their SECRET and we realized that the potatoes were actually BOILED before they were fried. Secret to extra crispy fries? Boil them first, freeze them, and the fry them twice.
DSC_0076
DSC_0081
North Korea vs. South Korea, they will never be together again....
So these are the eggs, separated both the egg yolk and the whites for this recipe. Egg yolks are for fresh mayo. Inside yolk mixture is lemon juice, grated rind, and white wine vinegar...I'll explain why the whites are needed in a bit...

DSC_0039
While the food processor works on the yolks, pour in White truffle oil slowly. It will turn into a thicker, mayo-y mixture. I've added horseradish as well.
DSC_0056
DSC_0064
The egg whites need to be beaten into foam for the fish batter.
DSC_0083
DSC_0119
DSC_0130
A bit of flour, and the White truffle cream for the batter. Mix time. After trying several attempts at making perfect batter for frying, I found that fluffed egg whites make for the crispiest texture. I've tried beer as well but I didn't find that as effective. Ultimately it's the air pockets and protein structure of the egg whites that makes the batter "stiffer" when fried. Also fish is dipped in cornmeal before being drenched in batter.
DSC_0131
DSC_0134
Frying Machine.
DSC_0137
How to tell when your oil is ready......Place a chopstick in the middle and wait for the bubbles....
DSC_0164
DSC_0136
DSC_0192
DSC_0198
Lightly floured potatoes after they were boiled, waiting to be fried as well. I start out with a really high heat frying temperature for the first fry, and then fry them again at a LOW&SLOW temp. Fries should have a visible Crust with a soft interior.
DSC_0226
Little portions. Fish 'n Chips with truffled mayo + horseradish.
DSC_0253
DSC_0245
DSC_0263
DSC_0266


Les commentaires sont fermés.