Ok

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services. En savoir plus.

10/06/2009

Toute l'année = Luxirare Sandwich

The filet sandwich is really Ina Garten's recipe, she also did a roasted filet sandwich with parmesan, arugula and truffle butter, but I just ended up using the white truffle cream that was left in the fridge. I seriously love clean-out meals where you're able to use whatever ingredients are lingering in your kitchen. Sometimes Garten is deceivingly clever ; replacing a roast beef which takes hours to cook with a quick cooking filet mignon ? Filet tastes better anyway.
So let's start with some fresh bread shall we?

NEW PICTURES 006 copy

This dough has been sitting for a bit, and you'll notice little air pockets that start to form. This is a good thing as it forms the crumb structure of the bread.
I like to make a flatter rounder shape for the sandwich rolls and poke little holes in it, and then flavor it with rosemary and salt. The garnished the sweet bread with rock sugar.

NEW PICTURES 077 copy


Baked bread, sweet and and savory....
NEW PICTURES 101 copy

Before I go on to show the process, here is a snapshot of ingredients. Roast beef, arugula, parmesan, and truffle cream for the savory sandwich, and Monk's head cheese, creme fraiche, cinnamon, and figs for the dessert sandwich.

NEW PICTURES 090 copy

Close up of the steak before it hits the oven. I salt and pepper it generously and used room temperature butter to cover it...
The milk solids in the butter help brown the steak so I wouldn't skip this step.


NEW PICTURES 016 copy

I set my oven up at 450 and cooked it for 20-25 minutes but it really depends on how you like your meat. I like mine medium rare....
MMMMMMM you could just f**k the sandwich idea and eat this as it is...Seriously I was tempted..

NEW PICTURES 068 copy

After waiting a tempting 20 minutes in hell, I finally slice the sandwich. Its a good idea to wait for the meat to reconstitute it's juices so that when you slice it it doesn't lose all its flavor. I'm suuuurre you guys have heard this on the food channel 1000 times.
Slicing the monk's head cheese, I was almost able to finish the whole round.

NEW PICTURES 043 copy

It should look like a bouquet, these slices are all for the dessert sandwich with figs..

NEW PICTURES 046 copy

Bread, opening...with steam....

NEW PICTURES 196 copy

NEW PICTURES 198 copy

Parmesan slices, I like a lot.

NEW PICTURES 203 copy

NEW PICTURES 206 copy

So onto the dessert sandwich...I start by slathering a good dosage of Creme fraiche.

NEW PICTURES 159 copy

NEW PICTURES 163 copy

Monk's head cheese from before....

NEW PICTURES 133 copy

Figs and honey...

NEW PICTURES 150 copy

Cinnamon

NEW PICTURES 172 copy

Dessert Sandwich.

NEW PICTURES 213 copy

NEW PICTURES 188 copy

Les commentaires sont fermés.