Ok

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services. En savoir plus.

10/06/2009

Novembre à Février = Luxirare Black Gnocchi

Black Gnocchi

Main Entry:
he·do·nism

Pronunciation:
ˈhē-də-ˌni-zəm

Function:
noun

Etymology:
Greek hēdonē pleasure; akin to Greek hēdys sweet — more at sweet

Date:
1856

1 : the doctrine that pleasure or happiness is the sole or chief good in life
2 : a way of life based on or suggesting the principles of hedonism

There is no difference between truffles, or heroin. Both provide immediate forms of pleasure without having any lasting financial, intellectual, or artistic value. The smell of a truffle is elusive, its that one second of "clicking" between your taste buds and nose that goes away after a 1-2 chews. To try and hang on to this "flavor" is nearly impossible. Trust me I have tried.

Truffle season is almost over, and I picked up a few from the store at a relatively cheap price, each one costs about between 40-60 which was alot better than what the internet was offering me. On an interesting note, COSTCO was selling cheap truffles (fresh + whole) on the internet but they immediately sold out before I could get my hands on one...

Black gnocchi infused with black truffle cream with whipped egg emulsion and fresh truffles.


DSC_0195
Black truffle cream, or I see it more like ground truffles preserved in oil.
DSC_0198
DSC_0200
DSC_0256
DSC_0266
Before adding the truffle cream, I added a touch of black food coloring.
DSC_0269
DSC_0275
DSC_0276
DSC_0279
From the S.O.S food store on Avenue B between 6th+7th street. This store shelves hard to find, rare cuisine ingredients and it is the only place I buy my truffles.
DSC_0003
Truffle fanatics like myself all know this ; must preserve truffles in rice.
DSC_0005
Egg + Butter + Salt + touch of Lemon emulsion. Otherwise known as Hollandaise, a classic french method.
DSC_0026
DSC_0047
DSC_0075
DSC_0010
DSC_0093
DSC_0096
DSC_0101

Les commentaires sont fermés.