Ok

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services. En savoir plus.

10/06/2009

April t September = Luxirare Sherbert, Basil, Prosecco, Strawberry

Fraises au Basilic (strawberries & basil)

I found a good flavor pairing for some sherbert I had wanted to make in my new Robuchon Cookbook. In one of the dessert recipes, I noticed this description; "pureed strawberries with basil and wine". I guess it functioned more as a dessert sauce than a dessert itself, and then I thought how refreshing would a strawberry and basil sherbert be for spring/summer? And then, as I got even more committed to this idea I thought, why not add an excuse for some much needed libation while enjoying such a dessert? In comes the faux champagne, Prosecco. I found this in a store recently for 9 dollars and it tastes SO amazing that I doubt I'll invest for another 60 dollar bottle of Rose Champagne again. Recipe for this is in the comments section.

I wanted to make a sherbert instead of an ice cream because sherberts require no eggs and generally taste a bit lighter which I think go better for basil and strawberries but you can definitely make this into a full blown, full fat ice cream.

Base Ingredients for sherbert; Pink Prosecco, strawberries, and basil....


NEW PICTURES 003 copy
NEW PICTURES 015 copy

Fizz for Sherbert...

NEW PICTURES 051 copy

NEW PICTURES 078 copy







NEW PICTURES 132 copy



NEW PICTURES 149 copy

Basil Infusing. Take the basil out when done..
NEW PICTURES 147 copy

This is the final mixture. Milk infused with Basil, strawberry juice which was sifted, sugar and then CORN SYRUP. Corn syrup is something that one must NOT skip out on for sherbert as it gives it the smooth silky texture. I finish this mixture off by adding the prosecco and then chilling it until the mixture is completely cooled.

NEW PICTURES 156 copy

Raging Feminists would chastise me for owning a Kitchen Aid.

NEW PICTURES 160 copy

NEW PICTURES 175 copy

NEW PICTURES 207 copy

NEW PICTURES 211 copy

NEW PICTURES 214 copy

What's inside...
NEW PICTURES 222 copy

NEW PICTURES 226 copy

I like to scrape the sherbert after I scoop it into the cup so that it is completely flat when I serve it.
Ok, so you're not exactly SATISFIED with the amount of social lubricant inside your sherbert. Ok fine, so scoop some drops of sherbert into a champagne cup and then add some more Prosecco so you have a nice & cold cocktail..JEEZ.

NEW PICTURES 250

NEW PICTURES 258 copy

NEW PICTURES 259 copy

NEW PICTURES 260 copy

Les commentaires sont fermés.